## **APOSTILLE OR LEGALISATION**

Legalize or apostille documents makes them suitable for legal use in another country, so they can be accepted in Spain. The process often involves several different steps depending on the issuing country.

APOSTILLE	LEGALISATION
PROCEDURE: The relevant authorities in the country of issue must verify the signatures of the academic officers and stamp the apostille.  The apostille must be stamped on the original document.	<ol> <li>PROCEDURE: By diplomatic services, documents must be presented at:         <ol> <li>The Ministry of Education of the student's home country for the recognition of the signatures on the original document.</li> <li>The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the country in which the documents were issued for the legalisation of the recognition of signatures made by the Ministry of Education.</li> <li>The Spanish Consulate in the country in which the documents were issued for the recognition of the signature of the previous legalisation.</li> <li>Legalisation is only considered complete if the document bears a record of legalisation which is signed and stamped by the Spanish consulate or diplomatic office with jurisdiction in the country in which the document was issued.</li> </ol> </li> </ol>
COUNTRIES (signatory to the Hague Convention of 5 October 1961)	issued <b>COUNTRIES</b>
Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrein, Barbados, Belize, Bharat/India, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Burundi, Byelorussia, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, China, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, Georgia, Grenada, Honduras, Hong Kong*, Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kirguistan, Lesotho, Liberia, Macedonia, Malawi, Marshall Islands, Macau*, Mauritius, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue, Oman, Panama, Peru, Paraguay, Russia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, São Tomé and Príncipe, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Seychelles, South Africa, South Korea, Suriname, Swaziland, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela and Vanuatu.	Rest of the Countries, and countries signatory to the Andrés Bello Convention: Bolivia, Colombia, Cuba, Chile, Ecuador, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain and Venezuela