University of Valencia logo Logo UV Office of the principal Logo del portal



Born in Huesca (1966). Full-UniversityCarlos Hermenegildo in the Faculty of Medicine and Odontology. Graduate and PhD in Medicine and Surgery from the Universitat de València with an extraordinate award of doctorate.

His scientific career began as a FPI fellow at the Universitat de Valencia. He made a postdoctoral stay in Montreal and worked at the Institute of Cytological Research of Valencia.

He was a researcher at the Carlos III Health Institute at the Hospital Clínico de Valencia. His research work is focused on the study of the vascular actions of sex hormones and their relationship with the cardiovascular alterations associated with aging and menopause. He has directed more than 25 competitive research projects. He is the author of more than 120 articles in International journals indexed in Science Citation Index and 20 chapters of books in foreign publishers. His publications have received more than 2,600 citations (index h = 29). He has presented communications in national and international congresses. He is a regular reviewer of indexed journals, editor of scientific journals and evaluator of various evaluation agencies (among others, ANEP, ANECA, AGAUR). He has directed 8 doctoral theses and has received several research awards, among which include the García-Blanco Medal to the basic research of INCLIVA. He has recognized four six-year research.

His teaching task began as Associate Professor, Full Professor, and has been a Professor since 2012. His teaching activity focuses on subjects of degree in Medicine and Physiotherapy and subjects of the master's degree in Physiology. He was coordinator of the first year of the degree in Medicine. He has participated in various educational innovation projects. It has recognized three quinquennial teachers.

He was vice-coordinator and coordinator of the Central Medicine Research Unit (UCIM) and member of the research commission. In the Institute of Health Research INCLIVA was a member of the scientific committee, the Governing Board, and Deputy Scientific Director from 2015 to 2018.