University of Valencia logo Logo UV Office of the principal Logo del portal

Mª Vicenta Mestre



Mª Vicenta Mestre was born in Oliva and she is a Full University Professor of Basic Psychology at the Universitat de València. Graduated in Philosophy and Educational Sciences, in the specialties of Psychology and Educational Sciences, she was distinguished with the National Award for the best fellows and with the llicenciatura (former Spanish undergraduate degree) extraordinary award.  Doctor of Psychology, she also won the Ph.D Extraordinary Award.

As director of a research group she has been principal investigator (IP) of 34 competitive projects, among which two PROMETEO projects with the University of Missouri (USA) and CONICET of Buenos Aires, as well as the excellence network management of ISIC “Fortalecimiento personal, inclusión social y calidad de vida, CVIFOR” (Personal strengthening, social inclusion and quality of life, CVIFOR). Its objective was to detect factors of protection and vulnerability and intervene in childhood and adolescence at risk of poverty and/or social exclusion.

She is currently IP of the Project “Violencia y victimización en la adolescencia: el rol de los valores” (Violence and victimization in adolescence: the role of values) [National Plan R+D+i, PSI2016-78242-R]; and the PROMETEO Project on “Competencia socioemocional y personal como prevención de la conducta desadaptada” (Socio-emotional and personal competence as prevention of maladaptive behaviour).

She is co-director of the Luis Amigó Chair between the Universitat de València and the Amigó Foundation for Psychosocial Intervention in children at risk.

She is the author of more than 160 articles in national and international journals, 23 books and 50 book chapters. In addition, she has directed 20 doctoral theses and her research career has been recognised with six research six-year term.

Committed to the transformation of the university, in her career Dr. Mestre has known the different levels of the academic career, as well as the main areas of university management being, successively, Secretary of the Department of Basic Psychology (1986-1989), Vice-Dean of Infrastructure of the Faculty of Psychology (2001-2002), (First) Dean of the Faculty of Psychology (2002-2006), Vice-Principal of Studies (2006-2010), Vice-Principal of Academic Planning and Teaching Staff (2010-2015), and Vice-Principal for Academic Planning, Teaching and Sustainability (2015-2018).  In 2018, she was elected as the first female Rector (Principal) of the Universitat de València (appointed by Decree 41/2018, of April 6, of the Government of the Valencian Community Council [Consell de la Generalitat]).

At the national level, she has been Executive Secretary of the Sectorial Commission of the CRUE of Academic Affairs and of the Sectorial Commission of the CRUE of Sustainability. Since May 2019, she presides over the Sectorial of the Teaching Staff of the CRUE Spanish Universities and, since the same year, she is part of the Executive Committee of the Ibero-American University Postgraduate Association (AUIP).

Being responsible for the inclusion and integration of people with disabilities such as Vice-Principal for Academic Order, Faculty and Sustainability, their university, the Universitat de València, has received different national awards such as ONCE Foundation Solidarity Awards and Telefónica Ability Awards.

Academic full member of the Academy of Psychology of Spain, she received the police merit award from the Unit of the National Police Corps attached to the Valencian Community (Decree 189/2019, of December 13, of the Consell de la Generalitat Valenciana), and the Awards of the Federation of Progressive Women of the Valencian Community, Ferrer Pastor of the Commonwealth of Municipalities of La Safor, the honorary award to the Cultural Trajectory of Foment AIC of Gandía and on 9 October 2018, she received the Distinction of the Valencian Government (Generalitat Valenciana, Decree 160/2018, of October 5).

In 2018, she received the José Luis Pinillos Award by Psicofundación for Excellence and

Innovation in Psychology in the “Psychologist of the Year” category that recognises

excellence in the professional and academic activity of Spanish Psychology.