University of Valencia logo Logo Department of Spanish Logo del portal


The Department of Spanish Studies is currently attached to the Faculty of Language Studies of the University of Valencia. It was incorporated as such in the late 70's, after its separation from the Department of General Linguistics. Since then we have been growing gradually, both in staff and teaching obligations. Currently the Department is divided into three teaching units:

  • Spanish Language Teaching Unit
  • Spanish Literature Teaching Unit
  • Portuguese Teaching Unit

Professors are assigned to the following areas of knowledge:

  • Medieval Literature
  • Literature of the Spanish Golden Age
  • Modern and Contemporary Literature
  • Spanish American Literature
  • Spanish Language: synchrony
  • Spanish Language: diachrony
  • Portuguese Literature
  • Portuguese Language
  • Basque Literature
  • Basque Language