Seven Nobel laureates, today Monday at the Universitat de València

  • June 5th, 2017
Premis Nobel

Two Nobel laureates of Chemistry, two of Physics, two of Economics and one of Medicine are gathered today Monday, 5 June, with researchers of the Universitat de València. Jean Marie Lehn and Ben Feringa will be hosted by the Institute for Molecular Science (ICMol); Sheldon Lee Glashow and Frank Wilcek, by the Institute of Corpuscular Physics (IFIC); Finn Erling Kydland and Eric Stark Maskin, by Economics; and Randy Schekman, by Pharmacy.

Monday, 5 June 2017, from 10:00 to 12:00, at the Auditorium Marie Curie of the Science Park:

Jean-Marie Pierre Lehn (Rosheim, France, 1939 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1987). His work has specially contributed to the development of supramolecular chemistry. He was awarded with the Nobel Prize in Chemistry, along with Pedersen and Cram, for the development and usage of molecules that interact with high selectivity.

Bernard Lucas Feringa, better known as Ben Feringa (Barger-Compascuum, 1951 - Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016) is a Dutch organic chemist who is specialised in molecular nanotechnology and homogeneous catalysis. He is professor of molecular physics at the Chemistry Institute of the University of Groningen and an Academy Professor and Chair of Board of the Science Division of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. He was awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, together with Jean-Pierre Sauvage and Fraser Stoddart, for the design and synthesis of molecular machines.

Monday 5 June 2017 at 11:00 at the Assembly Hall of the main building of the Science Park:

Sheldon Lee Glashow (New York, USA 1932 - Nobel Prize in Physics 1979). He was awarded with the Nobel Prize in Physics for his works about the electroweak interactions. In 1974 he proposed one of the first theories of Grand Unification of fundamental forces, the Geoorgi-Glashow model. He is one of the most sceptical scientists with the superstring theory which aims at explaining all the existing subatomic particles and unifying all the forces of nature.

Frank Wilczek (Mineola, USA, 1951 - Nobel Prize in Physics 2004). He was awarded with the Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction. He is professor at the Institute for Advanced Study of the Princeton University and at the Kavli Institute of Theoretical Physics. He is currently professor of Physics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Finn Erling Kydland and Eric Stark Maskin, Westin hotel, at 16:30

The Faculty of Economics collaborates with the Premios Rey Jaime I Foundation in the visit to Valencia of Finn Erling Kydland y Eric Stark Maskin, both awarded with the Nobel Prize in Economy in 2004 and 2007 respectively. On Monday there will be a meeting at the hotel The Westin Valencia at 16:30.

Finn Kydland, economist, was awarded with the Nobel Prize in Economy in 2004, together with Edward C. Prescott, ‘for his contributions to dynamic macroeconomics: the time consistency of economic policy and the driving forces behind business cycles’. Nowadays, he is professor of economy at the University of California, Santa Barbara.

For its part, the economist Eric Maskin is one of the best experts in Mathematical Economics in the field of information economics and the running of the markets, the auction systems and the design of optimal hiring mechanisms. His work is based on analysing the running of the markets when the conditions under which it works efficiently do not happen. Due to all this, he was awarded with the Nobel Prize in Economics in 2007 together with the originator of the theory Leonid Hurwicz and Roger B. Myerson.

Randy Schekman, Darwin hall, at 11:00

The Nobel laureate in Physiology and Medicine in 2013, Randy Schekman, will give this Monday the conference entitled ‘Sorting of small RNAs into exosomes secreted by cultured human cells’. The event will start at 11:00 at the Charles Darwin Hall in the Burjassot-Paterna Campus. Schekman will speak about the last progresses in the knowledge of the RNAs inside the extracellular vesicles (exosomes) and its possible function in the intercellular communication.

The conferences take place in the framework of the Rey Jaume I Prizes which are supported by the Valencian Foundation for Advanced Studies.