University of Valencia logo Logo Natural History Museum of the Valencia University Logo del portal

Fire of 1932.

The collections of the Museum of Geology start with the creation of the Universitat de València in 1499 where the mentioned university signed their fundamental constitution. In the middle of the nineteenth century, the Museum or Cabinet of Natural History of the UV was created. The Museum achieved great prestige, but it was destroyed by fire in 1932. There was not any possibility of reconstructing. However, it continued generating collections that each chair / department was in charge of managing. With the creation of the Burjassot Campus of the UV, a hall in the Department of Geology was installed to store all the geological and paleontological collections. In 1996, this list of elements such as the Museum of Geology of the UV was officially recognized by the Department of Culture of the Generalitat Valenciana.

During all these years, the Museum of Geology of the Universitat de València has achieved to guard up to several million copies, becoming to consider a reference center of the geology and palaeontology in the Valencian Community given that most of the collection comes from the research work developed in the Department of Geology. These collections are subject of consulting for several researchers internationally and had allowed to create a Tipoteca with reference copies, among them, several Holotypes, unique species of incalculable scientific value that have been discovered in our territory. With the new constitution of the Museum of the Universitat de València of Natural History, the Museum of Geology gives way to a new stage.