University of Valencia logo Logo University Institute of Women Studies Logo del portal

The origin of the IUED was the Interdisciplinary Seminar of Feminist Research in 1986 by a group of professors of our University, as a result of a collective reflection in the framework of sociopolitical and academic feminism, and that was introduced at the Women and Scientific Discourse Meeting that took place in 1987 in Valencia, with the participation of women researchers of several University Seminars for Women’s Studies. The founders were Ana Aguado (Contemporary History), Ester Barberá (Psychology), Neus Campillo (Philosophy), Lola Castaño (Psychobiology), Pura Duart (Sociology), Isabel Martínez Benlloch (Psychology), M. Luisa Moltó (Economics), Isabel Morant (Modern History), Rosa Pastor (Psychology), María Poveda (Sociology), Olga Quiñones (Sociology), Ana Sánchez (Logic and Philosophy of Science), Julia Sevilla (Constitutional Law), Trini Simó (Art History) and Teresa Yeves (Social Work).


The career of joint work and interdisciplinary collaboration was strengthened with the creation of the University Institute for Women's Studies in February 1991 (formalised by decree 175/1994 of 19 August of the Valencian Government, D.O.G.V. 1 September 1994).