University of Valencia logo Logo Faculty of Mathematics Logo del portal

Presentation of the Faculty

Origins of the Faculty of Mathematics


The Faculty of Mathematics of the University of Valencia was created 19 September 1977 by an Order from the Ministry. It was agreed to divide the former Faculty of Sciences of the then Universitat Literària de València into four faculties: Faculty of Chemical Sciences, Faculty of Physical Sciences, Faculty of Mathematical Sciences and Faculty of Biological Sciences. Its origins also date back to October 1966, when the Mathematics Section was created at the former Faculty of Sciences located in Building No.13 of the then Paseo de Valencia al Mar. Until that time there were only the Chemistry Section and Physics Section. The subsequent creation of the Biological Sciences Section, the gradual increase of the number of students and the impending move to the current Burjassot campus led to this division into four faculties.

Later, with the extension of the catalogue of degrees to the entire University in 1999, offering studies in mathematics it was expanded with the second cycle degree in Statistical Sciences and Techniques.
From the 2010-11 academic year begins the implementation of curricula driven by the Bologna process structured in degrees and postgraduate programs so that the first class of graduates of the new Degree in Mathematics completed his studies in 2014. This process therefore it involved the extinction of the Bachelor in Mathematics, curriculum 2000 and the Bachelor of Science and Technology Statistics, curriculum 1999.

The Faculty of Mathematics  


The Faculty of Mathematics of the University of Valencia is in charge of teaching degree in Mathematics as well as disseminating knowledge in the discipline.

The Faculty is made up of teaching and research staff (PDI), students and service and administration staff (PAS).

The disciplines are divided into areas. The departments are university entities in charge of organising and conducting research in teaching relating to an area of knowledge or a group of related areas. Each professor/lecturer is integrated into the department where they teach and carry out research. The following departments are part of the Faculty of Mathematics:

  • Algebra
  • Mathematical Analysis
  • Statistics and Operations Research
  • Geometry and Topology
  • Applied Mathematics

There are other departments which offer subjects in the same field of studies as the Faculty of Mathematics but they are not part of it. These include:

  • Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Computer Science
  • Logic and Philosophy of Science